Home > Grace, Jesus > My Pain is Understood

My Pain is Understood


****

A young woman went to her doctor complaining of pain.
“Where are you hurting?” asked the doctor.
“You have to help me, I hurt all over”, said the woman.
“What do you mean, all over?” asked the doctor, “be a little more specific.”

The woman touched her right knee with her index finger and yelled, “Ow, that hurts.” Then she touched her left cheek and again yelled, “Ouch! That hurts, too.” Then she touched her right earlobe, “Ow, even THAT hurts”, she cried.

The doctor checked her thoughtfully for a moment and told her his diagnosis, “You have a broken finger.”

****

Pain stinks. I’m just putting that out there. I’m sure you will all agree. If we all had the choice between no pain and having pain, I think we would choose for none of it. There are many sorts of pain. Headaches, guilty pains, broken bone pains, bee sting pains, pains of emotional abuse, pains of relationship problems, stress pain, stubbing your toe on the doorframe pain, speck of dust in your eye pain, touching the hot pan pain, pain of forgetfulness, pain of loss/grief, splinter pain, sunburn pain, your kids say “I hate you” pain, fingers caught in the door pain, chronic back pain, coffee too hot on the tongue pain, ….the list could go on and on.

Pain stinks. Some pains are for our good though. We are creatures of choice. We can choose to do right or wrong. Pain reminds us wrong things…or push us on to better things as well. Maybe pain isn’t so bad after all. I mean it’s bad, but it takes us to hopefully new places.

Being a runner (once a runner always a runner…I need to start again), I remember my coach first telling me that I need to distinguish between good pain and bad pain. I remember thinking, “Yeah, right!” But his words came true the first time I started cramping in my abdomen. I was doubled over on Central Ave. and coach kept on yelling, “Run through it Ed! Run through it! It will be over soon and you’ll be better off.” I also remember the first time my knees started hurting. I remember the coach saying, “Walk it off. Go home and ice it. Lifting tomorrow, no running for you.” Some pain you need to go through. Other pains say, “STOP!”

Pain started in the Garden of Eden simultaneously between 3 entities. God, Adam and Eve all experienced pain at the site of the forbidden tree. Everything was perfect…pain did not exist. Then all of the sudden, Eve felt naked and embarrassed, Adam felt vulnerable and hid from God. God felt loss and grief. That’s where it all started! From there we see pain throughout the world…all sorts of pain between people, in each person’s body, between friends, between enemies, between nations, within nations.

Pain stinks because it is the opposite of what God wants us to feel. Sometimes we don’t understand why there is pain…but it is simply because of sin. And God has to allow us to go through it. Remember, He had to go through it with us. He felt that loss first in the Garden, and then daily over thousands of years as His creation sinned each and every moment all over the planet. He also watched as His son Jesus willingly put Himself in the hands of those who would beat Him and murder Him.

Pain stinks, but it reminds us how far we are from God…but how close we can get if we just “run through it” or “stop” when necessary. Pain happens. Sometimes pain happens because of us. We need to figure out the difference between the two and live life to the fullest. That’s what Jesus did…even through His incredible pain as Creator (John 1:1) and as the Sacrifice (Matthew 27:45-46).

Categories: Grace, Jesus Tags: , , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

