Home > Uncategorized > Like a Child

Like a Child


 

****

Q: What did the baby corn say to it’s mom?
A: Where is pop corn?

Q: What do you call candy that was stolen?
A: Hot chocolate!

Q: What kind of nuts always seems to have a cold?
A: Cashews!

 

Q: Why did the banana go to the doctor?
A: Because it wasn’t peeling well!

Q: What is green and brown and crawls through the grass?
A: A Girl Scout who has lost her cookie.

 

****

Kid’s jokes are great! Well, at least to me. Some people think they’re corny. Have you ever had a 3 year old tell you jokes? It’s absolutely hilarious…and can also get annoying. Here’s one I heard recently. “What color is the sky?…Green and purple!” This was followed by hilarious laughter from the three year old. They laughed and laughed and then told more jokes that made absolutely no sense…to me. They were just saying something funny…then laughing because it was funny. Part of me was thinking, “These jokes make no sense what so ever! Why are they laughing?!”

 

Well, they were laughing because they were having the time of their life telling jokes that made no sense at all. J I was the one with the problem. I was older and wiser and had more knowledge about the joke world and proper deliver of the punch line. Haha….jokes on me.

 

Have you ever watched kids and wished you could laugh and play and be stress free as most of them seem? I do…every day! I wonder where my child like curiosity has gone. Why do we adults have a problem acting like kids?

 

The Bible talks about something we have termed “childlike faith.” I believe most adults would define this phrase as having faith without trying to figure something out…or taking someone at their word. Jesus, in Matthew 18:3, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” What does He mean!?

 

My kids think that Daddy can buy anything. Micah and Hannah have pulled almost clear of this idea, but Naarah just knows these things: Daddy’s wallet has money in it. That machine at the bank that daddy drives up to gives him money. That’s a childlike faith. Now, it’s directed in the wrong direction, but you can see how simple that is.

 

Kids who saw Jesus probably thought these thing: Jesus put mud on that guys eyes and now he can see. Therefore He’s like the best doctor around. The one boy had a basket with some fish and some biscuits and Jesus fed the whole crowd with it! Jesus can take care of me when I’m hungry. That girl down the street had a fever and died. Jesus went in her room yesterday and now she’s alive. Jesus can help people live! My daddy helped put that stone over our neighbor Lazarus’ grave. Jesus came and told Lazarus to wake up… and he did! Jesus can make people alive! That one guy came down through the roof and Jesus helped him walk again. I’ve never seen him walk, until now! Those guys out on the lake weren’t catching anything. Then Jesus came up and told them to put their nets over there and they caught a whole net full! Those fish must listen to Jesus.

 

Here’s the rumors now going around the temple school:

    That Jesus guy can make water turn into wine!

    That Jesus guy can feed a ton of people with hardly anything!

    That Jesus guy talks to fishes!

    That Jesus guy told the waves to stop and they did!

    That Jesus guy had my dad’s friend walking on top of water!

    That Jesus guy brought my sister’s friend back from the dead! And she’s not a zombie!

    That Jesus guy says He’s God’s son!

    That Jesus guy died on the cross a few days ago, and my neighbor talked with him yesterday!

    That Jesus guy is really cool! He gave me a hug and told his friends that they have to be like me!

    My dad says that Jesus might not be real, but I saw that guy walk. It was so cool!

 

Do we approach Jesus like that? Or do we try to figure Him out first? How would our prayers change? How would our worship change? Would how we talk about Him to others change if we approached Him like a child? I think we all know the answers to these questions.

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

