Home > Uncategorized > Bird’s Eye View

Bird’s Eye View


 

Bird’s eye view. I love to fly. I love to be on top of a mountain. I love to be in tall skyscrapers. I love to be at the top of a roller coaster. I have pictures from each of those places…except the coaster…my hands were up and I was screaming like a little girl.

 

Have you ever thought of looking at the church (it’s not a building) from God’s view? He has that bird’s eye view.

 

Basics:

  • God’s church is us, His people.
  • God’s church is the Kingdom on Earth.
  • If we bow to Christ as King, we’re in this Kingdom.
  • If we bow to Christ as King, we have purpose in the Kingdom.
  • The King has a plan to grow His Kingdom…
  • I was made for His plan.

Let me set up where I’ve been and what God’s been doing in my life the last month. I’ve been to a couple funerals. One was my grandfather’s and the other was a man that was probably the most active public servant I’ve ever known. I heard about a minister who’s mom passed away as she gave birth do him… His step mom passed when he was 9… His dad passed when he was 12. I have an extended family member who was just given 2 more years to live…she’s younger than me. I’m prepping for a trip to Haiti…where there are now more than 200,000 new orphans since the earthquake last January. I just read a story from Rick Warren’s wife…she met an African lady, with 3 children, dying of AIDS. Her children have no family and no friends because they are from an AIDS family. The mom just recently passed on to a permanent life with Jesus. Life is short.

Let me write that again. Life is short. We’d better figure out our purpose and get to it. If what the Bible says is true, then we will receive peace that passes understanding and a full and abundant life. I’m ready for peace and a full life; the kind of life Jesus wants me to have.

The problem is, it’s hard to get there without getting the bird’s eye view. Sometimes I feel like I’m in a maze. Left turn. Right turn. “Crud…I’ve been here before and it’s not the right way.” Backtrack 10 steps. That kind of life gets old after a while. There’s a burden to carry living that way. It’s a heavy burden.

Two scriptures from Matthew give us that bird’s eye view. Love God. Love your neighbor. Help other people find Jesus. Hmmmm. Could it be that simple? (Matthew 22:36-40, 28:18-20)

I can love God anywhere I am. Anyone who is near me, or within my reach of influence (remember, it’s a small world now) is my neighbor. Help people I know and come into contact see Jesus. Again, I ask ‘Could it be that simple?’

I think that this life gets hard when we put ‘us’ above ‘Him’ and His purpose for us.

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

What I think we need to do is just bow before Him and say…”Where ever I’m at I’ll do my best to love you. Whomever I can serve…even through sacrifice…I’ll do it. And I’ll talk to people about your love and your son.”

Can you say that? I think when we get to the point where we can say that, life becomes FILLED with purpose. We have all been called.

 

Love-Serve-Spread the Word,

Ed

 

PS – Wow, I just looked twice at my usual ending phrase “love-serve-spread the word” and realized how perfect it is for me to remember every day of my live long life! Cool!

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

