Home > Information, Information Overload > Too Connected?

Too Connected?


There’s something I know about many of you.  You’re wired, connected, in touch, in the know, online, and up to date on everyone’s status updates.  I don’t say that in a bragging.  I say that because it’s where I am.  My Facebook page is current.  My Tweets are regular.  My news feeds saved on a tab and auto refreshed.  I can tell you what’s going on in Japan in a second’s notice and who’s running for office in North Dakota.  If I’ve lost you by now, you may be in better shape than the rest of us.

How many of us know more about what’s going worldwide at any given minute in the day than we do about our workmate on the other side of the cubicle?  How many of us are more connected to our news feed than we are to our own children’s day to day activities in school?  Tough questions…one’s I’ve asked myself lately.

Ben Franklin aptly penned, “Life’s tragedy is that we get old to soon and wise too late.”  Before any more time passes, let’s evaluate what we put our time and energy into.  What to do?  I’ve been ‘unsubscribing’ to emails like crazy.  I’ve lessened how much I communicate through single phrase Tweets and status updates.  I started looking at the news only when eating lunch.  What I’ve found?  I know more about what’s going on right around me…the important stuff.

God calls us to love Him and to love people.  Let’s keep that the priority.

Ed Barnes

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

