Home > trust > Why Pray When You Can Worry?!

Why Pray When You Can Worry?!


Worry is rust upon the blade. ~ Henry Ward Hughes

Worry often gives a small thing a big shadow. ~ Swedish Proverb

You can never worry your way to enlightenment. ~ Ed Northstrum

I’ve developed a new philosophy. I only dread one day at a time. ~ Charlie Brown

Worry bankrupts the spirit. ~ Berri Clove

Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, it only saps today of its joy. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Quit worrying about your health. It’ll go away. J  ~ Robert Orben

Raise your hand if you worry too much.  Yes, mine is raised as well.  I can be a worry wart.  I am aptly skilled at staying up all night, staring at the ceiling, while having discussions and fixing problems in my head.  Did I forget to mention that I am also skilled at  being creative?  Most of these discussions and problems never happened, I create them all by myself.  They most likely will never take place…but I worry all night wondering if they could or would.  I’ve wasted valuable sleep hours and probably made myself sick simply by worrying.

Jesus, being our creator and knowing our weakness in sin, knows how much worry holds us back from being the person He created us to be.  What I know is this…much of the Bible deals directly with God wanting us to simply know who we are.

Let’s start at the beginning and move through the Bible with things that we know.  We are created by God (Genesis 1-2, John 1:1-4).  He has a special plan for each of our lives and for us as the family of God as well (Psalm 113:13-17, Jeremiah 29:11).  This world is not our home (John 18:36, Romans 14:17, John 3:16-17).  Our Father will take care of our needs while we are in this world (Matthew 6:25-34, Matthew 7:9-12).  Those are all scriptures that I know well.  However, I still worry about my days.  I worry about what people think about me.  I worry about making ends meet.  I worry about Dr’s visits.  I worry about teaching lessons to the groups I lead.  I worry about the Browns winning…ok…I know what you’re thinking.  I worry about saying the right thing…or the wrong thing.  All this worry…instead of trust.  Jesus has a better way.  Jesus trusted and lived in peace.

Many of you have heard me talk about my two Biblical heroes…other than Jesus.  Peter and Paul.  I love these guys because they figured this “don’t worry” thing out.  They started with what they knew to be true.  Reread that again…they started with truth.  Jesus had risen from the dead.  If that was true…everything Jesus said was true.  If everything Jesus said was true, then they had nothing to worry about.  All they needed to do was listen for direction, love people, and follow God.  It didn’t matter what people thought of them or what people did to them or if they slipped up here and there.  Forgiveness covered their wrongs and their home was in Heaven.  They knew that no one could take that away and that this world is temporary.  They knew that Jesus said even the Hell could not stand in their way.  They were part of the Kingdom.  They had real peace because they knew who they were, who God was, and where they were.  Worry didn’t have a place in their life.

I have to say that as I get older I have gotten better at this worry crap.  Haha…yes, I said crap.  Because I’ve come to realize that that’s really what it is.  Don’t get me wrong or hear what I’m not typing…I’m concerned about things.  Concern drives me to make corrections, dive in to unknown waters, or get work done.  But worry handcuffs me into doing nothing.  And I hate it when I allow worry to do that to me.

What about you?  Does worry have handcuffs on you?  Sometimes we put those handcuffs on ourselves!  Sometimes we wallow in our worry.  Sometimes we want people to feel sorry for us so we worry in public so others will see our worry.  I think all that does is get other people to worry with us…not helpful.  We put handcuffs on and then pass more around to our friends.  I often hear people in restaurants having hour long discussions all centered in worry about something.  I think next time I hear that happening I’m just going to go over and say, “Do you want me to get ya’ll some handcuffs?  I can strap you down to your chairs.”

Let’s remember who we are and who’s we are.  If we can wake up knowing that and lay our head down at night resting in that peace, life would be much fuller.  I’m confident of that.  Jesus wants us to always seek His Kingdom first.  If we’re not, we’re obviously seeking someone else’s.  And someone else’s will give us things to worry about.

Love, Serve, Spread the Word,

ed

Questions for Growth:

  • Do you have issues with worry?  Is “worry” your friend?  J
  • What has worry done to help you lately?
  • Examples…When have you worried and gotten nowhere?
  • Is that a way you want to live?
  • So…forward thinking…what can you do to pick yourself up out of worrying?  Be specific. (Examples: memorize some pertinent scripture, pray, have inspiring music at hand, call a friend to tell you to quit…haha…what ever works)
  • Do you know someone who worries?  What can you do to help them…this week?  Be specific and follow through.

Remember, you may…probably will fail at times in your plan to quit the worry habit.  But if you never start or try, you’ll always keep those handcuffs on.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

