Home > Uncategorized > What is your world view? – Money

What is your world view? – Money


***

The minister was preoccupied with thoughts of how he was going to, after the worship service, ask the congregation to come up with more money than they were expecting for repairs to the church building. Therefore, he was annoyed to find that the regular organist was sick and a substitute had been brought in at the last minute. The substitute wanted to know what to play.

“Here’s a copy of the service,” he said impatiently. “But you’ll have to think of something to play after I make the announcement about the finances.”

During the service, the minister paused and said, “Brothers and Sisters, we are in great difficulty; the roof repairs cost twice as much as we expected, and we need $4,000 more. Any of you who can pledge $100 or more, please stand up.”

At that moment, the substitute organist played “The Star-Spangled Banner.” And that is how the substitute became the regular organist!

***

What is a world view?  Let’s just get specific.  What is your world view?  Here’s a basic definition of the term:

…it refers to the framework of ideas and beliefs through which an individual, group or culture interprets the world and interacts with it.

A world view is the foundation of our life.  What we believe to be true shapes our morals and values.  Our morals and values then shape our behaviors and thoughts and words.  So what is your world view?  Do you have a God?  Who is this God?  How big is this God?  Is he just one of many?  Is he just a part of life or is he involved in all of life?  Whatever you believe to be true or not true of those questions determine how you live.

I am a Christian.  I hold true the belief that God is the creator of the universe.  Everything is his.  He creates and intimately knows each and every person who has, is and will be..although many do not believe him.  I believe that he has called us his children.  I believe that he has made one way for us to be back with him in a perfect and sinless environment.  I believe he has resourced us and will continue to resource us with what we need to live a full and peaceful life here, to serve others, and to help them see his ultimate and perfect plan.

Ok, there’s a snapshot of my belief.  Out of this framework of what I believe to be true about life, now and life after this body of mine ceases to live, I derive morals and values.  If I believe that God is the creator of all I see and holds my life in his hands, then it would hold true that I should value what he values.  My values and morals will be his.  Therefore, my actions should hold true to what I value.  People should be able to see my God’s character, values and morals reflected through my words and actions.

I hope that makes sense.  Again, what our world view is determines how we live life.  If my God were small and insignificant in my life…and I didn’t hold his views as true…then I would live life according to someone or something else’s values.  My actions and words would show that God isn’t important and that my ego or something else is.

How we view money and use money or abuse money show’s what we believe about God.  If God owns everything and everything is under his command, as he is sovereign, then it includes all my money…well not my money…his money.  I’m simply a steward of what he provides me.  I can do really stupid stuff with money…and he might allow me to mostly as ‘teachable moments.’  I can do really great things with money.  Money is just a tool, but it’s in The Creator’s tool box.

Here’s my view.  Money doesn’t turn the planet.  Many of us think and act like it does, but it doesn’t.  All the money is God’s, and if he needs it in a certain place at a certain time for a certain action, he can move it where it needs to go. However, if our world view is that money is essential to living, and it becomes bigger than God, then money will rule our world.  We will be influenced by it rather than controlling it as Dave Ramsey encourages.  We will be worried by the lack of it and enamored with dreams of having more of it.  As the Bible says:   For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows. 1st Timothy 6:10

The last part of that verse doesn’t seem to peaceful to me.  Doesn’t sound like money brings contentment.  Doesn’t sound like money will fix things.  Can money be helpful in many circumstances?  Sure, but it is not the source of fixing…God is the source of fixing.  God is the source of all we need.  God is our Father and we are his children, and he wants us to trust Him in all things.  One of my favorite verses, probably my favorite, is this, “Act justly, love mercy, walk humbly with your God.”  That is from the mouth of God through his prophet Micah.  That’s what God desires from us.

Love-Serve-Spread the Word,

Ed

Questions for growth:

  • Write down your world view.  What do you believe to be true.  Where do your values come from?  Where do your actions point?
  • Pick someone apart from yourself.  Can you tell something about their world view by how they act and speak and think?  Remember, people daily evaluate your world view based on what you do and say and think as well.  Do you point to God?
  • Is money a big part of your world view?  Does your thoughts about money line up with God’s view of it?
  • Are you consumed with thoughts and worries and dreams about money?  Or, are you content with where you are and what you have…content enough to be focused on God goals?

 

  1. April 4, 2014 at 5:36 am

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon
    everyday. It’s always helpful to read through articles
    from other writers and use something from their websites.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

